Eagle Island Camp

  • Upper Saranac Lake
    Saranac Lake, NY 12983

In everything Eagle Island does, we believe in inspiring and empowering young people to be confident, collaborative, and courageous. Registration is now open for Summer 2021! 

Discover an opportunity like no other at Eagle Island. Built as one of the finest Great Camps of it's day in a classic Adirondack Style, Eagle Island has been home to summer camp programs for over 80 years. Today, Eagle Island is run as a private non-profit offering a variety of youth and family camps throughout the summer. Located on its own 31-acre private island on Upper Saranac Lake, deep in the Adirondacks, participants have a unique opportunity to unplug and reconnect with the natural world.

Adirondack Summer Camp Programs 

Eagle Island Youth Camp

Eagle Island offers week long day camp and overnight (sleep-away) camp programs for children entering grades 3-9. 

Daily camp activities include open waterfront time (swimming, kayaking, crafting, etc.), swim lessons, STEM-inspired outdoor education, camper-choice activities, and camper-led play in the Peninsula, an open space for campers to explore and create their own fun. Other activities offered include nature education, team-building, crafts, and survival skills such as fire-building and shelter-building.

Eagle Island Camp believes that the summer camp experience should serve as an extension of each camper’s education, so they place a high emphasis on hands-on activities geared toward each individual’s unique skills and abilities.

Girls' Overnight Camp, entering grades 5–9 $850

Session 1— Sun July 11—Fri July 16

Session 2— Sun July 18—Fri July 23  

All-Gender Day Camp, entering grades 3–6 $375

Session 1— Mon June 28—Fri July 2

Session 2— Mon July 5—Fri July 9 

Eagle Island Family Camp

Eagle Island will also be offering two one-week family camp sessions this summer. Enjoy nature hikes, kayaking, swimming, arts and crafts and much more. Instruction by our staff will be available for activities such as boating, outdoor education, and more.

Family Camp, $750

Session 1— Sun July 25–Sat July 31

Session 2— Sun August 1–Sat August 7

Eagle Island Women's Weekend

Eagle Island will also be offering two women's weekends this summer. Through their Women's Weekends, EIC offers a time to unplug, reconnect, and rejuvenate through nature, stress-free living, and the company of like-minded women.

Alumni & Friends Women's Retreat, $450

Thurs June 17—Mon June 21

Women's Wellness, $375

Fri August 27—Sun August 29

Every program includes boat transportation to and from the island, staff support and staff-led programming, and access to a variety of facilities including our beautiful great camp lodge, boathouse, dining pavilion, beach, hiking trails, and more!

Visit our website for more details

In addition to its natural beauty, Eagle Island features early 20th-century, Adirondack-style Great Camp buildings dating from 1903 which are designated a National Historic Landmark.  Eagle Island and its 1903 Boathouse are well known local landmarks in the area as the site is along the Northern Forest Canoe Trail and 90-Miler Adirondack Canoe Classic.